facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

Not Quite a Newbie - CT3 175

• Mitch_w
  • Mitch_w's Avatar Topic Author

Not Quite a Newbie - CT3 175 was created by Mitch_w

Hey yall, I am not quite a newbie yet as I haven’t gone through with the purchase, but I am currently looking at a 1973 CT3 175. When I found this forum and saw that it’s still this active I was relieved since I know I’ll need some help. I have some experience working on cars but am completely new to the bike world. I was hoping to get a project car, but prices right now are insane and I’m fresh out of college so this seems like the next best option. 

Anyway, on to the bike… 
It is fully original with the original manual and some extra bits and it looks really clean. all original paint and decals and only one dent in the gas tank. My main concern is that it has what’s been diagnosed as a crankshaft bearing issue. I realize this will be a big job, but want to know what I’m getting into before pulling the trigger. Especially because the bike is listed for $1500. I was able to talk him down to $1000, but I’m still hesitant that most things can’t be diagnosed since I’m unable to start it.

Is that true, or are there workarounds I can do when I go to check it out and test compression and spark without actually starting it? How many specialty tools can I expect to actually need (flywheel clamp, bearing puller, etc)? Is 1k too much for this bike and the work that has to be done?

Again, really thankful a place like this exists. And thanks in advance for any help y’all can give to a newb.