facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

New to forum, question about shifter issues with my '75 DT100

• Zatocera
  • Zatocera's Avatar Topic Author
*SOLVED*

Hello! I am quite new to these bikes and also new to the forum. I bought a DT100 a couple months back and have been working on it steadily, restoring it and finding missing parts and the like. I am getting close to getting the engine back together as I had to take it apart to free up the shifter linkage. I've gotten most of the parts I need to put it all back together but I've found something that has puzzled me. I am able to find all 5 gears but my shift drum does not want to return to the center position after shifting. I've heard this could just be the fact that the trans is dry and needs to be lubed up and warmed up to work properly. The spring on the return arm seems to be tight still and not loose. I cannot seem to find a neutral either but I think I have gotten neutral before but it's hard to know when the shift drum isn't returning properly. I cannot get a video of the issue as I do not have 4 arms but I have found others that have had the same issues with their DTs, one of them I found on this site before.  Sorry for the lengthy post, as I said I am kinda new to all this and I figured getting on here would be my best bet since you guys know more than I do. Any help would be appreciated

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

Last edit: 16 Apr 2021 17:58 by Zatocera. Reason: My question has been answered
15 Apr 2021 18:34 #1