facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

Which wire is which?

• downsouthoutwest
  • downsouthoutwest's Avatar Topic Author

Which wire is which? was created by downsouthoutwest

Hello,
This is going to seem like a total noob / simple question to some but I can't figure this out. Wiring is really not my thing.

Can someone identify the wires in the photo?

So far I think I've figured this:

Black (Connected to both bulbs: Main Power
Yellow: High Beam Control
Blue/Red Stripe: Low Beam Control
Green: Ground
Yellow: Tail Lamp?

Bloody confused.

I'm trying to wire this light so it is constantly on when the bike is running. I do not require high beam, so I do not have a beam control switch on the bars. The last owner removed all electrics, so all electrics currently on the bike are on the attached diagram.

I've gone to the effort of drawing a current wiring diagram, so you can understand what is there. I don't think my proposed wiring is correct, can you wire a headlight directly to magneto and then just earth it?

Please talk to me as if I am a labrador.

Many thanks
Last edit: 13 Apr 2020 04:03 by downsouthoutwest.
13 Apr 2020 04:01 #1

This message has attachments images.
Please log in or register to see it.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Gr8uncleal on topic Which wire is which?

You'll be in the UK or Europe then, with those wires!!

Which model?

Black = earth/negative
Green = low beam
Yellow = high beam
Blue/red = parking light (small 3 or 4w bulb below the main headlight bulb - US bikes didn't have this fitted)