facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

72' AT2 crank seal smoker

• Bbd83
  • Bbd83's Avatar Topic Author
  • Elite Member
  • Elite Member

72' AT2 crank seal smoker was created by Bbd83

Just got a 72' AT2 in trade that looked okay but has been a complete turd so far. After a bunch of work I got it running and it smoked like Cheech & Chong. Not a little, like fill the room smoking. I'm still fairly new to working on bikes, only been wrenching seriously for less than a year. My guess is crank seal. I attempted the first start without exhaust and only got it to pop and backfire a couple times. Then put a brand n.o.s. race pipe on I had in my stash. After the smoke session I removed the pipe and oil ran out of it. From reading, guessing right side seal?? I pulled the clutch cover after draining and did see some seeping from seal but nothing extremely obvious like it blown out. Am I headed in the right direction? I have yet to pull the clutch basket as I didn't have my impact handy and wanted some advice first.
23 Dec 2020 21:39 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by MarkT on topic 72' AT2 crank seal smoker

If bike has been sitting it might just be loaded up with autolube oil.

Over a few years oil in tank tends to leak into and fill crankcase with oil... very common in my experience.
1963 YG1-T, 1965 MG1-T, Allstate 250, 1970 CT1b, 1971 R5, 1973 AT3MX, 1974 TS400L, 1975 RD350, 1976 DT175C, 1976 Husqvarna 250CR, 1981 DT175G, 1988 DT50, 1990 "Super" DT50, 1991 RT180, 2017 XT250