facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

Need advice tuning a '75 DT400

• tricky
  • tricky's Avatar Topic Author

Need advice tuning a '75 DT400 was created by tricky

Hey everyone,

I'm working on tuning my '75 Yamaha DT400. I have the stock airbox (with a UNI filter), and an aftermarket pipe (Circle F).

(Ignore the tank. It's a 400 B) )

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

On the pilot side, I went rich because I am new to this and have no idea how changing the exhaust impacts jetting. Started with 55 pilot, 185 main. Huge amount of four stroking, massive amounts of spooge coming out of the exhaust. Ran like crap, wouldn't idle, no need for a choke. So, way rich. Pilot air screw did nothing

Take two, 45 pilot, 185 main. Still massively rich, spooge everywhere. Pilot air screw was no help

Ok, take 3. Pulled the carb, double checked float height, went to stock jetting (40 pilot, 160 main). Fire it up. Ok, it held an idle now, still rich (I think). Pilot air screw didn't seem to do much

Ended the day at 30 pilot, 160 main. It finally stopped four stroking on idle, and it started feeling and sounding more like it should (I think, based on no experience). My gut is telling me it is still rich on the pilot circuit. Maybe a 25 pilot is needed? Ran a sweep of the pilot air screw from closed to open, didn't find a sweet spot really.