facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Pictures Posting Not Working (12 Jun 2023)

Picture uploads is again unavailable. We are working on the problem. Thanks for your patience.

Makotosun

Clutch Will Not Disengage

• Buttertac
  • Buttertac's Avatar Topic Author

Clutch Will Not Disengage was created by Buttertac

Hey Guys...I just bought a 1970 CT1. I’m new to motorcycles but I’m loving working on the bike. I changed the clutch discs and steels but the clutch will not disengage. Adjusted the screw and still no luck. Takes a decent amount of pressure to pull the lever but I can see the adjustment screw/cam move a quarter inch or more. The rear wheel spins a tiny bit easier when I pull the clutch lever but still not totally disengaged clutch. Any thoughts?
01 Nov 2021 13:08 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by RT325 on topic Clutch Will Not Disengage

Without getting too carried away just yet--with the plates removed can you spin the clutch center hub freely. Have had many times in the old days where there's almost zero clearance on the hub so next time--or first time it's tightened after being apart for some other reason it comes up tight & won't revolve freely if at all. So had to slightly modify--"Take a few thou off" the back where the kick gear fits & is part of the basket so it could spin freely. If it's not that then we'll start again. Was it ok before you got into it. Can you see the pressure plate lift etc etc. Just reading your post again, if you haven't had the hub nut undone then unlikely that problem if it was ok before changing plates.
The following user(s) Liked this Post: DaveHunter
01 Nov 2021 14:42 #2

• Buttertac