facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram google plus linkedin1 pinterest1

logosmallNOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community!

Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
  • Page:

TOPIC: 1978 yamaha dt250 carb question

1978 yamaha dt250 carb question 01 Sep 2018 23:43 #1

• kakon864
  • kakon864's Avatar Topic Author
  • Mini Enduro
  • Mini Enduro
I recently acquired a 1978 Yamaha dt250 and I've never worked on a bike before, but have worked on car engines and outboards. So what I'm wondering is how the oil injector pump hooks up to the carb. I don't have the original carb, but I think it's a dt175 one the guy gave me. So in image 1, I assume A is the inlet for the oil pump from the tank and that B hooks to the carb to inject oil(still need to install the cable from the throttle). In image 2, I'm not sure what 1 is, 2 and 4 I assume are overflows (not sure) and 3 is the gas in from the tank. In image 3, I want to guess this is where the old oil pump inlet barb used to be, but not sure, if that was true it would come out of the blue circle in image 4, my other guess would be the image 4 red circle, but that barb seems too big. This is all based off guessing and I'm not sure where oil is injected. I wasn't able to find a diagram labeling the barbs. Worst case I can run premix till I get the proper carb, but I'd prefer to use the oil injection system.