facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

Question New Member: Wanting to restore an old GT80

• HornyPlatypus
  • HornyPlatypus's Avatar Topic Author

New Member: Wanting to restore an old GT80 was created by HornyPlatypus

Hi! 

My name is Eric and I am a 22 year old senior in college studying cyber security. I've been riding motorcycles since April 2021. I bought a 2018 Honda CB300F and learned to ride on that and did about 4000 miles on it. I also fell in love with motorcycles on it. I just recently traded it in for a 2021 Honda CBR500R. 

So why am I here? Well I have been wanting to improve my mechanical abilities and today while browsing craigslist I found just the oppurtunity. I stumbled across a pretty beat up GT80 with an asking price of $150. Seller claims they bought it from someone who said they got it running but it was stuck in gear, that they never touched it, don't know anything about it, and are wanting to get rid of some things. From what I can tell this is about as mechanically simple of a bike as one can find so I went ahead and bought it. 

I figured it would be a great chance for me to try to restore it with the main goal being for me to learn more about mechanical work in general. If I can't fix it but I learn more about how to work on my cars and my other bike I would consider that a win. So far my mechanical experience is pretty limited. I did some basic stuff to my CB300F like a gear shift indicator, aftermarket lights, phone charger, etc.. The most advanced job I've done to date was putting a aftermarket downpipe on my 2017 VW GTI. 

What I'd really like to know is this: