facebook1   youtube1   twitter1   instagram   linkedin1   pinterest1

logosmallNOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community!

1973??? yamaha enduro not getting spark

13 Nov 2019 06:07 13 Nov 2019 06:09 by iconley21.
iconley21
More
Topic Author
1973??? yamaha enduro not getting spark #1
Hi i am new here, i recently was scrolling through craigslist and found a older enduro for 100$ and it seemed in decent(ish) shape i am new to these bikes and really didnt need another motorcycle. my issue is what seems to be a similar issue to what many people have. i am not getting spark to the spark plug but i have all lights and the engine will turn over with the electric start. but i am really not sure where to start, i would like to get the bike running and i figured someone here might have some insight on what i should do to get some spark. i have restored a few bikes but i think i am going to leave this one as trail beater and hopefully tackle some michigan trails in the summer and i would like it to be reliable by then. any insight would be greatly appreciated
Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

13 Nov 2019 06:41
MarkT
Site Supporter
Site Supporter
More
1973??? yamaha enduro not getting spark #2
Looks to be an AT3. You can verify with the VIN lists in the Tech library.

It has a 12 volt generator/starter system. Completely different than the other Enduro models that had 6 volt magnetos. As far as spark, it's a battery/points system just like cars had. Much easier to troubleshoot spark issues..

You need to have a good 12 volt battery for spark on that model. First step I'd take is clean the contact points.