facebook1 youtube1 twitter1 instagram linkedin1 pinterest1

NOTICE:  If you are not a free registered member of the site, you will not see the photos in the forum, and you won't be able to access our premium member content. Please consider joining our community! REGISTER AND MAKE THIS BOX DISAPPEAR!

1978 DT125MX starting problems

• ecurbrenots
  • ecurbrenots's Avatar Topic Author

1978 DT125MX starting problems was created by ecurbrenots

I am a 67 old with experience in old British 4 strokes with Lucas magnetos (whn good they give a really good spark) but I have limited experience with  2 strokes.  I was riding my DT the other day on the woods after a few miles of Green lanes when i stalled it,  it would not restart although the starting had been a first kick affair until then, this resulted in a long push home.

I have only got it to start twice since then on a bump start and once by the kickstart when it fired up then died.

This is a CDi model,  and the spark did appear a little weak so i changed the coil,  better spark  but still no start. 

Cleaned the carb and blowed through with air line but still no start,  checked the reed valve one petal not sealing fully fully, letting in light but not horrendus so i put it back still no start, changed plug no difference.

I have connected the ignition circuit with direct wiring so i think i have eliminated wiring problems.  I have also pulled the flywheel off  a bit of moisture inside which i dried out but keyway is good and key intact.

I am now  perplexed as what to try next, could the reed valve cause this problem,  i will add that the plug is not getting wet even after many kicks,  it has very good compression and the fuel is clean and new.

This image is hidden for guests.
Please log in or register to see it.

02 Sep 2021 09:53 #1

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Replied by Sneezles61 on topic 1978 DT125MX starting problems